16 childhood pop gems

Justin Timberlake – Cry Me A River

Sorry Britney! We still love you!

3LW – No More (Baby I’ma Do Right)

Oh my god, those jeans. Bejeweled bandanas. I had a serious collection of those back in the day.

NSYNC – Tell Me Tell Me Baby

Okay, secret time. If I had to, I would choose NSYNC over the Backstreet Boys. I mean, Millenium was one of the first CDs I ever owned, so obviously I have a place in my heart for them. But NSYNC characterized my 8- year-old life so much more. I feel like everything made in the early 2000’s was…shiny.

Mya – My Love Is Like Wo 

I still listen to this song like, at least once a week..

Backstreet Boys – We’ve Got It Goin’ On 

It’s pretty wild that this album came out when I was four. Also,”Hey Mr. DJ” was totally unappreciated. I’m honestly not that crazy about Millenium, though- the first three tracks are all their big hits, and then the album just kind of flops after that. Why did they waste their time on so many filler songs? The same thing happened with Black & Blue, but I think the songs (“Get Another Boyfriend”, “The Call”, “Shape Of My Heart”) were a little better than those on Millenium.

Montell Jordan – Get It On Tonite 

I’m not sure this list would be complete without him.

Spice Girls – Do It

It would really be a waste to post “Wannabe” or “Spice Up Your Life” on here. Like, we’ve heard that so many times already. We get it. That being said, Spiceworld is a great album. They were really on their feminism grind here:

Do what your mama said
I will not be told
Keep your mouth shut, keep your legs shut
Go back in your place
Blameless, shameless, damsel in disgrace
Who cares what they say
Because the rules are for breaking 

Girl power! And yes I had a Spice World backpack and got the spice girls lollipops and still own Spice World on VHS..

Britney Spears – Overprotected

 I also think it’s really funny that she has a song named ‘E-mail My Heart’ on her first album. Like, only in 1999 would you even think to write a love song about using e-mail.

Mandy Moore – I Wanna Be With You

Mandy Moore really is the least offensive person on the planet. Her third album was just confusing, though. I feel like they tried to make her all edgy~ but only by putting like, weird middle-eastern instruments in her music. Why does that suddenly make things exotic and sexy?

Samantha Mumba – Baby Come On Over 

Who is Samantha Mumba?

S Club – All In Love Is Fair 

A Teens – Slammin’ Kind Of Love

Ummmmm why was the brunette marketed like a total whore? And, “That’s What It’s All About” is kind of a rip off “It’s Gonna Be Me”.. just saying.

Five – When The Lights Go Out 

Looking back at this, I feel really gross now. ALSO, Five, I have a question for you: were you also really embarassed by “Slam Dunk Da Funk”?

LFO – I Will Show You Mine 

Speaking of songs that little girls probably shouldn’t be listening to..

O-Town – Liquid Dreams 

…… I might have been the only one who liked Jacob over Ashley. Fun fact: they named the band after Orlando, Florida, even though no one was actually from there.

B*Witched – C’est La Vie 

This video.. might be perfect.

Leave a Reply

